Connect with us

Top Pics

Only Barca Have Won The Treble Twice

Seven European clubs have managed to win the the continental Treble consisting of winning the national championship, the national cup and the Champions League (or predessor) in one season. Ajax Amsterdam, PSV Eindhoven, Celtic Glasgow, Inter Milan, Manchester United, Bayern Munich and FC Barcelona

So what? But only FC Barcelona managed to win the treble twice. They won the Spanish La Liga, Copa Del Rey and Champions League for the first time in 2008/09 and replicated the feat in 2015/16. They beat archrivals Real Madrid by nine points for the league title in 2008/09 and edged them by one point seven years later.

And now? Barca beat Athletic Bilbao 4-1 and Sevilla 2-0 after extra time respectively in the Copa Del Rey those seasons and downed Manchester United 2-0 and Juventus 3-1 in the Champions League. Barcelona have won a record 29 Copa Del Reys and has been crowned champions of Europe five times.

Bottomline: Barcelona have also hoisted 12 other European trophies as well as 17 other domestic pieces of silverware and three Club World Cups.

More in Top Pics